Click Here to Return to

The Finer Points of Flying
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: IAS versus TAS and Vne
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:06 am 

In short I have questions about the relationship of TAS (True Air Speed) and Vne (Never exceed speed).

The setup:
I'm a hobby pilot in the San Francisco Bay Area, fly out of Livermore. Basically do the $100 burger weekend routine, usually cruise around between 3,000 and 5,500 feet. No reason to get very high usually, I rent a Cessna 172SP for most flying.

I mess around with the TAS adjustment on the airspeed indicator. The TAS versus IAS is rarely of any interest at the altitudes I fly. I use GPS for navigation and am very familiar with the terrain so have little interest in TAS for navigation. Probably sounds bad but that's the way it is.

I recently flew to Los Angeles and the trip back required an altitude of 12,500 to get over clouds at the San Gabriel mountains, basically the Interstate 5 pass that's called the grapevine. At this altitude the TAS was a significant difference. So much so that if the TAS were applied to the IAS the indicator would have been well within the yellow arc. Clearly a descent from that altitude would appear to exceed the Vne speed, was my gut feeling but I did not understand exactly what I was observing.

The CFI:
I talked to a CFI at the FBO where I rent the plane. His response was fairly textbook. The IAS is a measure of the air molecules that enter the pitot tube. Those same molecules are hitting the control surfaces of the plane. The IAS is the speed of interest and there is nothing to worry about. TAS is only for navigation.

Another Source: